chasingwonderwoman

Of Marketing and Men

My first play on words of the new year

My first play on words of the new year

This semester I’m all registered to take a course titled Principles of Marketing. Classes won’t start until January 24th but I am already a fan of this class for three reasons…

It’s a bargain.  I’m fortunate that the UCONN bachelor’s program I am in allows for a certain percentage of classes to be taken at its’ affiliated partner community colleges.  These community colleges charge a fraction of the course that UCONN does and the only requirement is that you receive pre-approval from your advisor.  I keep my UCONN undergraduate status AND I keep an extra 1,100 in my wallet this spring! And what college student do you know that couldn’t use an extra grand…even us old timers.

It’s all on-line.  While I enjoyed some parts of being back in the classroom on Saturday mornings and feeling like a co-ed again, some of you remember my struggle with patience. For those who don’t want to revisit that blog entry, I will summarize in 5 words….I don’t suffer fools well…or frankly, not at all.

It’s got win-win potential.  I hope I haven’t misled anyone by thinking that I am returning to college because I really love studying and school.  The truth is I hate both.  I’m going back to school to finish what I started but more importantly to get promoted within my industry.  BUT, and here’s where this class gets interesting, perhaps “Marketing” can take on a secondary more personal meaning.   I find myself back on the “market” again in my personal life; so perhaps the same principles of marketing mix and distribution strategies may also apply to a world I reluctantly return to…that of dating.

It may be a stretch for me to think that this course may in any way at all help me wade through the markets of men; but how fun will it be to see exactly how many times I can weave my dating (or lack thereof) life into this semester and how creative I can be with my shameless play on words.

It’s a new year, I feel hopeful, so I’ll ask in advance that you cut me some slack.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Of Marketing and Men

  1. Love reading your blog! Market…market
    …market!

  2. PezDispensed on said:

    Don’t forget the component of Self Marketing in dating, how to best hawk your “own brand” to the right buyers etc…

  3. PezDispensed on said:

    Oh…I see what you did there! Very cleaver

Leave a Reply

Kalia Kornegay

Freelance Journalist

♥ The Tale Of My Heart ♥

In your light, I learn how to love. In your beauty, how to make poems. You dance inside my chest, where no one sees you.

Prego and the Loon

Pregnant and Dealing With Domestic Violence

PaceSetter

"Let's succeed together..."

The Geographist

Geography, Now.

joeseeberblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Taylor Brooke Winery

Taste the Vintage of CT's Quiet Corner

Living in a State of Discontent

Trying to find hope in a future where everything from resources to patience is peaking.

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

The Middlest Sister

There are 5 sisters. She's the middlest.

The Waiting

Turns out, it's not the hardest part.

alifemoment

Colourful Good Food & Positive Lifestyle

